Posted in Commercials

Iconic TV Commercials – Tootsie Pops

Everyone has seen it. And if you haven’t, you must have been living under a rock since 1970. In which case, you should probably be doing something better with your time than reading a college students blog about advertising.

The Tootsie Pop owl commercial has withstood the test of time somehow, and I couldn’t even begin to try to tell you why. Its poorly drawn cartoon like animation certainly dates it, so don’t ask why it’s so famous. And yet, every time I eat a tootsie pop, I wonder how many licks it really would take to get to the center. Of course, after I check the wrapper for stars.

I remember when I was a kid seeing this commercial and having my brother become determined to figure out the true answer to the age old question of how many licks it takes to get to the center of a tootsie pop. I don’t recall the exact number he came up with, and he probably doesn’t either. So why do I remember this? Why does this owl appear in my head every time I seen a tootsie pop? The world may never know…

Leave a Reply

